Have Healthy People 2020 Benchmarks for Leading Causes of Death Been Met in Rural and Urban Areas?

Date:
Time: 9:00 am Pacific, 10:00 am Mountain, 11:00 am Central, 12:00 pm Eastern
Duration: approximately minutes

Analyzing progress toward targets set by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services in the Healthy People 2020 program for the leading causes of death is important. It is unclear whether progress is consistent when considering urban versus rural residence, race and ethnicity, gender, and census region. The purpose of this webinar is to report findings from our analysis of death rates for seven major causes of death (coronary heart disease, cancer, diabetes, stroke, chronic obstructive pulmonary disease, unintentional injury, and suicide) in light of Healthy People 2020 benchmarks. Presenters for this webinar include Alva O. Ferdinand, Tim Callaghan, Marvellous Akinlotan, and Kristin Primm all representing the Southwest Rural Health Research Center.

Connection Information

The webinar is free, no registration is required, but participation is limited to the first 200 to log-on that day. If the webinar reaches capacity, you will be able to access the recording, archived on the Gateway website.

Additional Resources of Interest

Questions?

Brenda Haugen
Rural Health Research Gateway
brenda.haugen@und.edu