Research Alert: August 23, 2021

Cardiovascular & Cancer Rates for the Rural Delta Region: A Mapping Tool

The Delta Region is made up of 252 counties/parishes near the lower Mississippi River in eight states (Alabama, Arkansas, Illinois, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, and Tennessee). It has high rates of economic distress, persistent poverty, and markers for poor health outcomes. Of the 252 counties, 178 are rural/non-metro and 74 are urban/metro defined using 2020 Core Based Statistical Areas.

The North Carolina Rural Health Research Program has created an interactive, web-based mapping tool that provides data on rates of cancer and cardiovascular diseases across the Delta Region. Users can access maps and data tables which include 13 health indicators, with county-level rates stratified by rural and urban areas, and can compare disease rates among counties. Data for metro Delta counties are also available and can be included or excluded based on users' needs.

Contact Information:

Mark Holmes, PhD
North Carolina Rural Health Research and Policy Analysis Center
Phone: 919.966.7100

Additional Resources of Interest: