Skip to main content
logo TwitterRSSFacebookAbout | Contact Us


Print Page

Change in Profitability and Financial Distress of Critical Access Hospitals (CAHs) from Loss of Cost-Based Reimbursement

Sorry, registration for this webinar is filled up. An archive recording will be made available after Friday, September 19, 2014

Date: Friday, September 19, 2014
Time: 11:00am Pacific, 12:00pm Mountain, 1:00pm Central, 2:00pm Eastern
Duration: approximately 60 minutes

Speakers: Mark Holmes, PhD and George H. Pink, PhD from the North Carolina Rural Health Research Center

The President’s Budget, the Congressional Budget Office, and the Office of the Inspector General have proposed:

  1. Reducing CAH payments from 101% to 100% of reasonable costs;
  2. Eliminating the CAH designation for hospitals that are less than 10 miles from the nearest hospital;
  3. Eliminating the CAH program altogether and converting all CAHs to PPS, and; Removing Necessary Provider CAHs’ permanent exemption from the distance requirement.
Each of these proposals could have a substantial impact on the financial performance and condition of CAHs.

This webinar will present summaries of three recent reports:

Key findings and implications of reversion to PPS reimbursement will be provided.

The webinar is free of charge.

For more information, contact: Shawnda Schroeder, PhD, Rural Health Research Gateway, North Dakota Center for Rural Health, 701.777.0787, shawnda.schroeder@med.und.edu

Registration
Please note, there are a limited number of seats available; however, we hope to make a recording available on our website after the live event. This webinar is free. A phone connection and high-speed internet are required to participate. Connection details will be emailed to you immediately upon registration.

If you have questions or problems with the registration process, please contact Michelle Graba at michelle.graba@med.und.edu or 701.777.3294.